Announcing Winners of the 2023 Society for Neuroscience Poster Session

Valerie PatmintraEvents

Six Researchers from the McKnight Brain Institutes Selected to Receive Cash Awards and Certificates Recognizing their Research Efforts

The McKnight Brain Research Foundation recently hosted its Society for Neuroscience Poster Reception in Washington, DC. From the 70 early career researchers who presented posters, six were selected to receive cash awards and certificates for honorable mention.

The Poster Session Winners include: Johleen Seedansingh, 1st place (University of Florida), Sabrina Zequeira, 2nd place (University of Florida), Katherine Gonzalez, 3rd place (University of Florida). The Honorable Mention recipients include : Zachary Simon (University of Florida), Samantha Smith (University of Florida) and Zoe Bassett (University of Miami).

“We were thrilled to host the awards in person for the first time since 2019 and were very encouraged by the high-level science that was on display. Thanks to our McKnight Brain Institute leaders and all 70 of the early career researchers who presented posters, there was a unique energy in the room and we appreciate the networking and collaboration that are underway to advance research on cognitive aging.”

Dr. Madhav Thambisetty, MBRF Vice Chair and Trustee

The McKnight Brain Research Foundation poster reception is an annual event held in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Society for Neuroscience. Research scientists from the four McKnight Brain Institutes located at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, the University of Arizona, the University of Florida and the University of Miami are invited to submit posters featuring their research in cognitive aging and memory loss associated with the aging process.

The award winners are selected by a panel of prominent research scientists who are not affiliated with the Foundation or any of the McKnight Brain Institutes.

Share this post: